The New Workout Spot

IMG_3982

I’m currently living in Santa Monica, about 2.5 miles away from the beach, which basically means I’m the happiest girl in the world. I love walking/running/cycling down to the beach to get some fresh air, sit and write by the water, or to workout at Muscle Beach. During the week, I don’t have as much time to do this so on the weekends I try to spend as much time as I can down by the water, catching up on my Vitamin D intake and making up for my shorter weekday workouts.

Muscle Beach is definitely my new favorite place to go for a workout. I can train barefoot, cool off in the ocean breeze, play in the sand… oh oops, sorry, I’m supposed to be training. Seriously though, I love it there.

I love to see people skateboarding in their bathing suits and cycling past me with their surfboards in tow, dancing or playing guitar on the beach, and swinging back and forth on the traveling rings, which is my new favorite exercise.

It’s a killer workout and it is so much! it feels like you’re flying when you’re swinging from one ring to the next. When I first started, I felt so awkward and weak but every time I go it feels a little bit smoother.

The only downside of the rings is how my hands feel afterwards. Normally, I don’t use any sort of grips, gloves, or pads when training parkour – we’re too cool for that. Also, as I explained to a rando who asked me, if you’re running away from someone in any kind of real life danger situation, you’re not going to be able to pause to get your grips out before climbing to safety or hanging on for dear life. I know that’s dramatic, but it’s true. I’d rather train with bare hands. It just makes more sense.

That being said, I might cave and buy some grips. Strictly for the rings, I swear! That way I can have a solid workout and stop when my muscles are tired rather than giving up after four or five go’s because my hands feel like they’re going to fall off. I feel like that’s reasonable…

Anyway, this is definitely my new favorite workout spot. Whenever I go, there are always lots of people playing on the bars, monkeying around on the rings, hoola hooping, slacklining, rope-climbing, doing acro-yoga and anything else you can think of. It puts a huge smile on my face every time.

Leave a Reply

